Home » Community Data » Fremont


The Town of Fremont, Indiana is a small community of 2,138 citizens situated in the northeast corner of the State of Indiana. Fremont is the second largest community in Steuben County and is located just over one mile south of the Michigan state line and approximately five miles west of the Ohio state line. The Town of Fremont resides in close proximity to primary interstate highways with easy access to major Midwest cities. Interchanges to Interstate 69 and 80/90 are within 2 miles in Fremont.

Download Community Profile

Water Town of Fremont
(260) 495-5303
Wastewater Town of Fremont
(260) 495-5303
Electric NIPSCO
(800) 262‐6477
Steuben County REMC
(260) 665‐3563
Natural Gas NIPSCO
(800) 262‐6477
Fiber Optics & Telecommunications iMan
(260) 668‐3111
Frontier Communications
(877) 462‐1266
Total Population, 2012 Estimate 2,135
Total Population, 2010 2,138
Total Households, 2010 684
Median Age, 2010 33.1
Population Breakdown by Age, 2010
0-14 years 23.1%
15-19 years 8.6%
20-24 years 7.2%
25-44 years 28.8%
45-64 years 21.9%
65-84 years 9.7%
85+ years 0.9%
Total Land Area 2.23 sq miles
Population Density 963.1 / sq mile
Major Employers & Products
Cardinal IG Insulated glass
Cold Heading Hardware fasteners
Dexter Axle Heavy duty axles
General Aluminum Company Aluminum auto parts
Koester Metals, Inc. Sheet metal enclosures
Lagrange Products Inc Manufacturing pressure vessels
Letica Corporation Plastic injection molding
Metal Improvement Company Metal coating and nonprecious engraving
Metaldyne Machine auto parts
New Horizons Baking Company Buns and muffin baking
Padnos Plastic Processing Plastics Recycling, Post-Industrial
Swager Communications Communications Towers
Western Consolidated Technologies Seals & Gaskets
Wenzel Metal Spinners Metal Spinning, Machining
Town of Fremont
PO Box 602
205 N. Tolford St.
Fremont, IN 46737
(260) 495-7805
Town Manager Chris Snyder
Town Council President Steve Brown
Town Council Vice President Joe Thomas
Town Council Member Linda Fulton
Town Council Member Kay Clark
Town Council Member Steve Vaughn
Town Clerk/Treasurer Mary K "Kathy" Parsons